stargazer_new.jpg

UK Release: June 23rd, 2022
North America: Sept 1

It is the fall of 1995 at Rocky Barrens University, hidden amidst the pine trees and starry skies of Northern Ontario. Aurelle Taylor, daughter of a world-famous fashion designer becomes the closest friend of burgeoning painter Diana Martin; they have bonded over a mutual desire to escape their wealthy families and personal tragedies and begin new lives as students at RBU.

 

They are closer than lovers, they are like one thing, intoxicated by their own bond, falling into the hedonistic seduction of the woods and the water at a university that is more summer camp than campus. Diana, who has lived her life under the shadow of her sadistic older brother, rockets to fame with a series of scandalous portraits of Aurelle, whose response is to tumble further into a drug-fuelled escapism.  Diana must choose whether to rescue her kindred spirit from destruction, or to abandon Aurelle for the fame she has forever thirsted after.

 

The lines between love, envy and obsession blur in Laurie Petrou’s utterly enthralling, unceasingly tense second novel. A darkly compelling coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History, or Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies.

(Verve Books)

LATEST REVIEWS

'Stargazer is a dark and dreamlike journey into the obsession, envy and love between two young friends in the 90s. The tension simmers in this atmospheric lake-side setting until the crushing end. Laurie Petrou's writing is melodic and immersive. A delicious read!'
- Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push  

'A lyrical, nuanced deep dive into female friendship and all of its messy complexities. Laurie Petrou writes with a sharp observational eye and lush, gorgeous prose. Stargazer is an emotional masterpiece, both gritty and incandescent at once'
- Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, bestselling author of The Girls Are All So Nice Here  

'A sinuous, captivating exploration of the mysterious depths of female friendship that had me hooked from its first pages. The vivid, finely wrought setting - a prestigious, remote college campus - was a delicious reminder of another favourite novel, Donna Tartt's The Secret History. Petrou's dreamlike, note-perfect prose simmers toward a shattering conclusion. This unforgettable novel from a truly talented novelist is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng'
- Marissa Stapley, bestselling author of Lucky

'Stargazer entwines obsession, adulation and chilling female friendship into an enthralling, addictive read. Giving off strong The Secret History vibes, it drew me in from the first pages, and it'll make you want to be a 'Taylor girl', even though you know it's not a good idea'
- Lisa Hall, bestselling author of Between You and Me  

'Laurie Petrou has crafted a chilling look at the fine line between love and obsession, longing and desperation, ambition and mania. It's a look at the cusp of adulthood, when all things - beautiful and terrible - are possible. These women will haunt you'
- Gin Phillips, author of The Well and The Mine  

'An outstanding book with some of the most beautiful lines I've ever read'
- Samantha M. Bailey, USA Today and #1 national bestselling author of Woman on the Edge  

[read the full review]

 

'Stargazer is a slow-burn literary thriller in the best possible way: Eerie, beautiful, and impossible to put down. I loved it'
- Robyn Harding, International bestselling author, The Perfect Family  

'Stargazer is a galaxy of a novel'
- Amy Stuart, bestselling author of the Still series

[read the full review]

 

'Readers who loved Elena Ferrante's My Brilliant Friend will love Stargazer, a haunting tale of female friendship that explores the delicate and dangerous territory - in art and in love - that lies between inspiration and exploitation'
- Heather Young, author of Sunday Times Book of the Month, The Lost Girls