'Love, Heather' - Coming at you, Oct 8th, 2019

Preorder now!

What you see isn't always what you get.

Stevie never meant for things to go this far. When she and Dee—defiant, bold, indestructible Dee—started all this, there was a purpose to their acts of vengeance: to put the bullies of Woepine High School back in their place. And three months ago, Stevie believed they deserved it. Once her best friend turned on her, the rest of the school followed. Stevie was alone and unprotected with a target on her back. Online, it was worse.

It was Dee’s idea to get them all back with a few clever pranks, signing each act Love, Heather—an homage to her favorite 80’s revenge flick. Despite herself, Stevie can’t help getting caught up in the payback, reveling in every minute of suffering. And for a while, it works: it seems the meek have inherited the school.

But when anonymous students begin joining in, punishing perceived slights with increasingly violent ferocity, the line between villain and vigilante begins to blur. As friends turn on each other and the administration scrambles to regain control, it becomes clear: whatever Dee and Stevie started has gained a mind—and teeth—of its own. And when it finally swallows them whole, one will reemerge changed, with a plan for one final, terrifying act of revenge.

Crooked Lane Books, NYC, Publish Date: Oct, 2019

Praise for Love, Heather:

"I devoured this book! Laurie Petrou truly understands the darkness of the high school experience. This fast-paced thriller is a must for any fans of the genre." 
—Ben Philippe, author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

"Laurie Petrou understands the darkness and light that coexists within all of us, and she carefully unearths it with well-crafted prose, sharp pacing—and absolutely no fear.  This is a book that readers of many ages will want to devour, delivered by a daring, talented novelist to watch."    
—Marissa Stapley, bestselling author of The Last Resort 

"Carefully crafted, dark and disturbing, Love, Heather is a page-turner that will keep you up all night and stay with you long after you read the last page."
—Chantel Guertin, TV personality and bestselling author of the Pippa Greene series.

"Love, Heather is a haunting love letter to the power of movies, the complexity and heartbreak of friendship, and the things we need to get us through the toughest times . . . I couldn't stop turning the pages all the way to the astonishing finale."
—Peter Bognanni, author of This Book is Not Yet Rated 


"An engaging, emotionally raw tale of social torment and explosive reactions." 
—Kirkus Reviews 

Sister of Mine:
Globe and Mail Top 100 Book of 2018
Winner of the International Half the World Global Literati Award
Find out more at
HarperCollins Canada
Find out more at
Crooked Lane Books

A debut novel of domestic suspense in the vein of Liane Moriarty, Shari Lapena and Claire Douglas about two sisters bound together by a murder. 

When is a debt ever fully paid?

Penny and Hattie are sisters in a small town, bound tight to the point of knots. They share a secret they cannot escape, even while it pulls them apart.

 

One night, a match is lit, and Penny’s terrible husband is killed – a marriage going up in flames, and offering the potential of a new life. The sisters retreat into their family home – a house of secrets and memories – and try to live in the shadow of what they put in motion.

 

But Penny’s husband is not the only thing they are hiding, from the outside world and from each other. Under a cloud of long-held resentments, sibling rivalry, and debts unpaid, the bonds of sisterhood begin to crack. How long will Penny and Hattie demand the unthinkable of each other? How often will they say, “You owe me,” and when will it ever be enough? 

It's not a 'whodunnit'...

It's a 'what comes next?'

Publishers: HarperCollins Canada, Crooked Lane Books, No Exit